31 int’l tourists enter Bali with visas on arrival yesterday — up 4 times from Monday

Stock photo of scenery before landing at the Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali. Credit: Unsplash/Yulia Agnis
Stock photo of scenery before landing at the Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali. Credit: Unsplash/Yulia Agnis

The Ngurah Rai International Airport in Bali recorded as many as 31 international tourists arriving on the Island of the Gods yesterday and obtaining visas on arrival (VOA). The number was a fourfold increase compared to the seven foreigners who were granted VOA on Monday.

All of the foreigners mentioned landed in Bali yesterday after boarding Jetstar Asia Airways and Singapore Airlines. Both airlines departed from Singapore. 

“From the Jetstar Asia Airways [flight 3K-243] Singapore-Denpasar route there were [a total of] 12 foreign citizens, while from the Singapore Airlines [flight SQ-944] there were 26 foreign citizens,” Jamaruli Manihuruk, who heads the Bali office of the Ministry of Law and Human Rights, said.

The significant increase was a breath of fresh air for tourism in Bali, added Jamaruli, who hoped the reintroduction of VOA could revitalize the island’s tourism after a two-year struggle due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Read also: 7 int’l tourists arrived in Bali with visas on arrival yesterday: official

Flight 3K-243 reportedly carried 16 passengers including four Indonesians, one Filipino, four Singapore citizens, three Russian nationals, two Malaysians, one UK citizen, and one American. 

Of all the passengers, the two Malaysians along with two Singapore citizens and the American were granted VOA.

The passengers of the Singapore Airlines’ flight SQ-944 who obtained VOA included four Australian citizens, two Canadians, three French citizens, three German citizens, three Malaysians, one Singapore citizen, five UK citizens, and five citizens of the US.

Passengers who flew with the Singapore Airlines and arrived with non-VOA visas included citizens of Belgium, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine, Russia, and Saudi Arabia among other countries. 

The 23 nationalities listed as eligible for VOA for now include Singapore, Australia, the US, Netherlands, Brunei, the Philippines, the UK, Italy, Japan, Germany, Cambodia, Canada, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, France, Qatar, New Zealand, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Vietnam.

Subscribe to The Coconuts Podcast for top trending news and pop culture from Southeast Asia and Hong Kong every Friday!

Reader Interactions

Leave A Reply


Support local news and join a community of like-minded
“Coconauts” across Southeast Asia and Hong Kong.

Join Now
Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on