Singapore’s next election to add four more lawmakers to parliament

File photo of a person submitting a vote. Photo: Element5 Digital
File photo of a person submitting a vote. Photo: Element5 Digital

Singaporeans are expected to choose four additional parliamentary members across 31 constituencies in the upcoming election, election officials announced today. 

That includes two additional constituencies up from 29 after the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee recently redrew electoral boundaries when voters go to the polls between now nad April 2021 later – the date has yet to be called.

New constituencies include Kebun Baru, Marymount, Punggol West, and Yio Chu Kang, all of which will be represented by one Member of Parliament, or MP. 

Overall, Singaporeans will vote across 14 single constituencies and 17 group constituencies made up of either four or five MPs in the upcoming election. The inclusion of one additional single and group constituency add up to 31 total.

The boundaries were redrawn to reflect changing demographics and to reduce the size of groups representing constituencies.

Altogether, they add up to 93 parliamentary seats; higher than the current 89.

The release of the committee’s report is a strong indicator that an election announcement is coming.

The report was released hours after the Health Ministry today issued an advisory that events in Singapore should be kept to no more than 250 participants to help limit the spread of COVID-19.

That means the coming campaign season may not see big rallies across the city-state. 

Here are all the constituencies to be contested in the coming election:

Single-member constituencies

  1. Bukit Batok
  2. Bukit Panjang
  3. Hong Kah North
  4. Hougang
  5. Kebun Baru
  6. MacPherson
  7. Marymount
  8. Mountbatten
  9. Pioneer
  10. Potong Pasir
  11. Punggol West
  12. Radin Mas
  13. Yio Chu Kang
  14. Yuhua

Four-member constituencies

  1. Bishan-Toa Payoh
  2. Chua Chu Kang
  3. Holland-Bukit Timah
  4. Jalan Besar
  5. Marsiling-Yew Tee
  6. Sengkang

Five-member constituencies

  1. Aljunied
  2. Ang Mo Kio
  3. East Coast
  4. Jurong
  5. Marine Parade
  6. Nee Soon
  7. Pasir Ris-Punggol
  8. Sembawang
  9. Tampines
  10. Tanjong Pagar
  11. West Coast
Map of constituencies. Image: EBRC
Map of constituencies. Image: EBRC


Singapore general election looms, as electoral boundaries review committee formed
Singapore has no plans to lower the voting age to 18 years old

Reader Interactions

Leave A Reply


Support local news and join a community of like-minded
“Coconauts” across Southeast Asia and Hong Kong.

Join Now
Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on