GE2020: Nearly 200 candidates register to run in Singapore’s election

Nomination Day in 2015. Photo: Pugalenthii Ramakrishnan/Facebook
Nomination Day in 2015. Photo: Pugalenthii Ramakrishnan/Facebook

A total of 192 Singaporean politicians across 31 electoral divisions registered to run in next week’s elections by submitting their nomination papers today. 

Notably absent at the nine nomination centers today were party supporters due to COVID-19 restrictions on large gatherings. Politicians entering the premises were mainly greeted by members of the media instead. 

Highlights from this morning included Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat arriving by car to register as the man leading the ruling People’s Action Party team against the opposition rival Workers’ Party in the East Coast group constituency. He previously represented the Tampines GRC. 

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s brother, Lee Hsien Yang, failed to register, ending weeks of speculation he would seek office that began when he joined the Progress Singapore Party. Prime Minister Lee will lead his team in Ang Mo Kio against The Reform Party, led by Kenneth Jeyaratnem, who could not register in person as he is in home quarantine after returning from the United Kingdom. 

GE2020: Here’s what’s different about Singapore’s election this time

Tan Jee Say, the leader of now-dissolved political party SingFirst, made a surprise arrival at a nomination center wearing a Singapore Democratic Party T-shirt and registering as a candidate for Holland-Bukit Timah under the party. He will lead a team of four against the PAP’s team led by Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan, who is joined by newcomer and Timbre boss Edward Chia. 

The candidates only have eight days to campaign before Cooling Off Day takes place Thursday, one day before Singaporeans go to the polls. Ninety-three seats are up for grabs in Parliament, an increase of four lawmakers over the previous election in 2015, when there were 89 seats. 

Other constituencies to look out for include those previously held by the Workers’ Party, such as Aljunied and Hougang. The West Coast GRC, where former presidential candidate Tan Cheng Bock is contesting under the Progress Singapore Party; as well as the Potong Pasir SMC, which Singapore People’s Party chairman Jose Raymond has set his eyes on. 

GE2020: Election map takes shape as candidates register to run

In the 2015 elections, the People’s Action Party won with 69.9% of votes. 

As of April 2019, Singapore has 2,594,740 registered voters, up by more than 130,000 in the previous election.

Find all the candidates and constituencies up for grabs July 10 in our updated map.

Aljunied GRC

PAP: Victor Lye, Alex Yeo, Shamsul Kamar, Chan Hui Yuh and Chua Eng Leong

Workers’ Party: Leon Perera, Gerald Giam, Sylvia Lim, Pritam Singh, Faisal Manap

Ang Mo Kio GRC

PAP: Lee Hsien Loong, Darryl David, Gan Thiam Poh, Nadia Samdin, Ng Ling Ling

The Reform Party: Kenneth Jeyaretnam, Andy Zhu, Noraini Yunus, Charles Yeo, Darren Soh

Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC

PAP: Ng Eng Hen, Saktiandi Supaat, Chee Hong Tat, Chong Kee Hiong

Singapore People’s Party: Osman Sulaiman, Steve Chia, Williamson Lee, Melvyn Chiu

Bukit Batok SMC

PAP: Murali Pillai

Singapore Democratic Party: Chee Soon Juan

Bukit Panjang SMC

PAP: Liang Eng Hwa

Singapore Democratic Party: Paul Tambyah

Chua Chu Kang GRC

PAP: Gan Kim Yong, Low Yen Lin, Don Wee, Zhulkarnairn Abdul Rahim

Progress Singapore Party: Francis Yuen, Tan Meng Wah, Abdul Rahman, Choo Shaun Ming

East Coast GRC

PAP: Heng Swee Keat, Maliki Osman, Tan Kiat How, Cheryl Chan, and Jessica Tan 

Workers’ Party: Dylan Ng, Kenneth Foo, Nicole Seah, Terence Tan, Abdul Shariff Aboo Kassim

Holland – Bukit Timah GRC

PAP: Vivian Balakrishnan, Edward Chia, Sim Ann, Christopher De Souza

Singapore Democratic Party: Tan Jee Say, James Gomez, Min Cheong, Alfred Tan

Hong Kah North SMC

PAP: Amy Khor

Progress Singapore Party: Gigene Wong

Hougang SMC

PAP: Lee Hong Chuang

Workers’ Party: Dennis Tan

Jalan Besar GRC

PAP: Josephine Teo, Denise Phua, Heng Chee How, Wan Rizal Wan Zakariah

People’s Voice Party: Lim Tean, Leong Sze Hian, Nor Azlan Sulaiman, and Michael Fang Amin.

Jurong GRC

PAP: Tharman Shanmugaratnam, Xie Yao Quan, Shawn Huang, Tan Wu Meng, Rahayu Mahzam

Red Dot United: Michelle Lee, Ravi Philemon, Alec Tok, Nicholas Tang, Liyana Dhamirah

Kebun Baru SMC

PAP: Henry Kwek

Progress Singapore Party: Kumaran Pillai

Macpherson SMC

PAP: Tin Pei Ling

People’s Power Party: Goh Meng Seng

Marine Parade GRC

PAP: Tan Chuan-jin, Mohd Fahmi Bin Aliman, Tan See Leng, Edwin Tong, Seah Kian Peng

Workers’ Party: Ron Tan, Yee Jenn Jong, Nathaniel Koh, Fadli Fawzi, Muhammad Azhar Abdul Latip

Marsiling – Yew Tee GRC

PAP: Lawrence Wong, Zaqy Muhammad, Alex Yam, Hany Soh

Singapore Democratic Party: Benjamin Pwee, Bryan Lim Boon Heng, Damanhuri Abas, James Gomez

Marymount SMC

PAP: Gan Siow Huang

Progress Singapore Party: Ang Yong Guan

Mountbatten SMC

PAP: Lim Biow Chuan

People’s Voice Party: Sivakumaran Chellappa 

Nee Soon GRC

PAP: K Shanmugam, Faishal Ibrahim, Louis Ng, Derrick Goh, Carrie Tan

Progress Singapore Party: Bradley Bowyer, Damien Tay, Kala Manickam, Sri Nallakaruppan, Taufik Supan.

Pasir Ris – Punggol GRC

PAP: Teo Chee Hean, Janil Puthucheary, Mohamed Sharael Taha, Yeo Wan Ling, Desmond Tan Kok Ming

People’s Voice Party: Jireh Lim, Prabu Ramachandran, Mohamed Nassir Ismail, Gilbert Goh Keow Wah, Vigneswari Ramachandran

Singapore Democratic Alliance: Desmond Lim, Harminder Pal Singh, Kelvin Ong, Kuswadi Atnawi, Abu Mohamed

Pioneer SMC

PAP: Patrick Tay

Progress Singapore Party: Lim Cher Hong

Independent candidate: Cheng Peng Wah

Potong Pasir SMC

PAP: Sitoh Yih Pin

Singapore People’s Party: Jose Raymond

Punggol West SMC

PAP: Sun Xue Ling

Workers’ Party: Tan Chen Chen 

Radin Mas SMC

PAP: Melvin Yong

The Reform Party: Kumar Appavoo

Sembawang GRC

PAP: Ong Ye Kung, Lim Wee Kiak, Vikram Nair, Poh Li San, Mariam Jaafar

National Solidarity Party: Spencer Ng, Sebastian Teo, Yadzeth Haris, Ivan Yeo, Sathin Ravindran

Sengkang GRC

PAP: Ng Chee Meng, Lam Pin Min, Amrin Amin, Raymond Lye

Workers’ Party: He Ting Ru, Jamus Lim, Raeesah Khan, Louis Chua Kheng Wee

Tampines GRC

PAP: Masagos Zulkifli, Koh Poh Koon, Baey Yam Keng, Desmond Choo, Cheng Li Hui

National Solidarity Party: Reno Fong, Mohd Ridzwan bin Mohammad, Yeo Ren-Yuan, Choong Hon Heng, Vincent Ng

Tanjong Pagar GRC

PAP: Chan Chun Sing, Indranee Rajah, Joan Pereira, Eric Chua, Alvin Tan

Progress Singapore Party: Wendy Low, Harish Pillay, Michael Chua, Terence Soon, Abas Kasmani

West Coast GRC

PAP: Desmond Lee, S Iswaran, Foo Mee Har, Rachel Ong, Ang Wei Neng

Progress Singapore Party: Leong Mun Wai, Hazel Poa, Jeffrey Khoo, Nadarajah Loganathan, Tan Cheng Bock

Yio Chu Kang SMC

PAP: Yip Hong Weng

Progress Singapore Party: Kayla Low

Yuhua SMC

PAP: Grace Fu

Singapore Democratic Party: Robin Low


Other stories to check out:

GE2020: Here’s what’s different about Singapore’s election this time
Bye Ivan, Hello Yao Quan: PAP replaces Jurong GRC candidate after backlash

Singapore’s transport minister retires from politics

Reader Interactions

Leave A Reply


Support local news and join a community of like-minded
“Coconauts” across Southeast Asia and Hong Kong.

Join Now
Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on