Tour all of Singapore’s 55 districts (Interactive)


Know why Tampines is called Tampines, or why mountains of sand are piled near the island’s far southeastern corner? Which part of Singapore is named after a form of 18th-century Catholic devotion?

Singapore’s divided into 55 districts – or planning areas – steeped in history and remnants of Singapore’s simpler, rural past. We’ve mapped out all 55 in this interactive feature, so test your knowledge and learn some new fun facts about Singapore and its interesting landmarks.

Click here for a full-screen version

Other stories:

Empires and opium collide once again at revamped Bukit Chandu museum (Photos)
Coconuts Singapore looks back at 10 influencer dramas that rocked the city

Subscribe to The Coconuts Podcast for top trending news and pop culture from Southeast Asia and Hong Kong every Friday!



Leave a Reply