Filipinos can now travel to Canada visa-free (if you meet certain requirements)

Photo: Unsplash/Wenhan Zhou
Photo: Unsplash/Wenhan Zhou

Been itching to travel on a long-haul flight abroad? Here’s some good news: Canada has included the Philippines on a list of 13 countries that can now visit their country visa-free as part of its Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) program.

According to the program, Filipinos may enter Canada by air without a visa, provided they have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or currently have a valid US non-immigrant visa.

“Canada is a destination of choice for so many around the world. We’re making it easier for more people to visit Canada, whether they’re coming to do business, sightsee, or reunite with family and friends. Expanding the eTA program to include countries like the Philippines is also an important part of our Indo-Pacific Strategy, as we look to further engage in the region, build on people-to-people ties, and make travel to Canada easier, faster, and safer for everyone,” Canadian Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly said in an Embassy of Canada release.

Although the embassy hasn’t provided guidelines on duration of stay, eTAs typically allow travelers multiple entries for stays of up to six months at a time.

The full list of eligible passport holders include the following countries:

  • Philippines
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Uruguay
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand

The Canadian Embassy in Manila said the inclusion is effective immediately.


Support local news and join a community of like-minded
“Coconauts” across Southeast Asia and Hong Kong.

Join Now
Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on