Travel Alert: Bangkok travelers must now quarantine in these 26 provinces

Photo: Chiang Mai International Airport
Photo: Chiang Mai International Airport

As of today, residents of Bangkok and other areas with a high number of COVID-19 cases, including Chonburi and Nonthaburi, must quarantine two weeks if they travel to any of 26 provinces imposing new travel restrictions.

Twenty-six provinces including Chiang Mai, Nakhon Ratchasima and Ubon Ratchathani as of today have issued regulations requiring travelers from 28 locales deemed high-risk to report themselves to the authorities and submit to two weeks of quarantine at provincial accommodations.

Health officials currently deem 27 provinces and the capital as high risk because they have more than 50 coronavirus cases or are adjacent to those that do.

Update: Bangkok’s EmQuartier closes 6 shops after COVID scare

The Emergency Decree grants governors absolute authority to take any steps necessary to contain the virus, including travel restrictions. That’s led to 26 less hard-hit provinces to put up the same barriers: Chiang Mai, Nan, Buriram, Nakhon Ratchasima, Ayutthaya, Chainat, Sa Kaeo, Nakorn Nayok, Nakhon Phanom, Kanchanaburi, Phrae, Phichit, Phetchabun, Lamphun, Ubon Ratchathani, Roi Et, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Yasothon, Mahasarakam, Sakon Nakhon, Chumphon, Surat Thani, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Songkhla and Satun.

The orders remain in place until further notice.

Some popular tourist destinations including Chiang Mai and Buriram are offering an option for so-called red zone travelers to pay for COVID-19 tests. If they come back negative, they can forego quarantine. In Buriram, the test fee is THB600 (US$20) while Chiang Mai has not announced its cost.

As of today, the 28 “red zones” are Bangkok, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Tak, Ayutthaya, Saraburi, Lopburi, Sing Buri, Ang Thong, Nakhon Nayok, Prachinburi, Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Pathom, Ratchaburi, Suphan Buri, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Phetchaburi, Samut Songkhram, Samut Sakhon, Samut Prakan, Sa Kaeo, Chachoengsao, Chonburi, Chanthaburi, Trat, Rayong, Chumphon and Ranong.

People traveling from Samut Sakhon, the epicenter of the new outbreak that emerged last month, to three provinces – Phayao, Kamphaeng Phet, and Mukdahan – must quarantine for 14 days. Mukdahan also requires travelers from Rayong to do the same. 

More details broken down by province are available online.

Thailand reported another 527 cases on Tuesday which followed a record-breaking 745 cases on Monday. Since January 2020, 8,966 cases had been logged as of yesterday, with 65 fatalities.


Happy New Lockdown: Bangkok restaurants closed to diners as COVID-19 outbreak swells

Join COCO+ and get ad-free browsing experience on Coconuts, and more juicy perks.



Leave a Reply

Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on