EU to allow flights from ‘safe’ Thailand, only nation in SEA

When the European Union allows people to fly into its member nations tomorrow, Thailand will be the only country in Southeast Asia whose citizens would be allowed to do so. 

The union yesterday named Thailand among 14 countries deemed “safe” to enter the region due to its success in containing the coronavirus pandemic. 

The other 13 nations on the list, which is subject to change, are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Tunisia and Uruguay. Excluded: China and the United States.

In early January, Thailand became the first country outside China to report a COVID-19 case. Since then it has confirmed only 3,171 infections and 58 deaths, and no local transmission has been detected in over a month.

The list and other travel criteria are to be finalized later today.


Current list of who can fly into Thailand starting Wednesday

Grove: Coconuts Brand Studio

Fast. Funny. Digital. We produce creativity that delights and influences customers. Join forces with us to slay buzzwords, rise above the noise, and sow the seeds of something great.



Leave a Reply

Coconuts TV
Our latest and greatest original videos
Subscribe on

Send this to a friend